ANOSMIA VISUALISED

Anosmia

Smell attracts, repulses and comforts us. It gives us our appetite and food its taste. It detects danger, evokes memories and is part of our own individual identity. It is one of five ways we can connect with the world and the people within it, yet it is insufficiently researched and undervalued.

It is a sense that I have been longing to experience for my whole life; the scent of my early morning coffee’s, my granddads garden flowers in summertime, the memories of fresh sea air from childhood holidays, but most importantly, the scent of people I love – my grandmas distinguishable perfume, my mothers comforting scent…

Daily communication, interaction, attraction and intimacy are affected. I can see, hear and touch, but I can’t experience life in full.

ANOSMIA5C Me

ANOSMIA2C Mum

ANOSMIA4C Grandad

ANOSMIA3C Grandma

ANOSMIAC Previous partner