Thinking positively; Information on Anosmia

I’ve been trying to think of my Anosmia as a more positive thing now, rather than letting it get me down. Everyone has problems at some point in their life, this is mine. But along with it I’ve met lots of lovely people, I feel a little like I’m a part of a community by speaking with people via the Facebook and Yahoo groups, and I’m able to use my passion as a filmmaker to create something that will hopefully benefit everyone with taste and smell problems.

This weekend I stayed in London. I met four lovely people, 3 of whom were Congenital like me. I had never met anyone with Congenital Anosmia before. Sitting at a table outside a cafe drinking coffee and nibbling biscuits with complete strangers, we exchanged stories, our experiences with doctors and tests, our worries and upsets, the research we have found on Anosmia, what we would like to be able to smell if we could and what we feel like we’re missing out on. Considering this was the first time meeting these people, I felt very comfortable discussing such personal things.

Smell is a sense taken for granted, despite it being 20% of our senses.  Up until recently, it was never heard of. But now, with the help of the UKs first Anosmia support group FifthSense, founded by Duncan Boak, Dr Carl Philpott ENT consultant surgeon who runs the UK’s only NHS Smell and Taste Clinic and many others trying to get the word out there, it is slowly but surely starting to get acknowledged;

The good thing about Anosmia becoming more recognized is that it will eventually promote more research. The more people that know about it, the better.